Politics, a dirty word?

Veronicadewilde
5 min readJan 9, 2023

“ Politics is just a game” “I am not interested in politics”

Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

When I hear someone saying that, I cringe. I wonder : why wouldn’t you be interested in something that effects you daily? Don’t you care how much taxes you will be paying on your hard earned money? Don’t you care how your taxes are spend? Don’t you care how your health care, your kids education, the infrastructure of your country, …..will be effected by the person in charge of your city, province, state, country…?

When some one says that, I think to myself: this person is “ being lived and does not take charge of his/ hers own life”.

I wonder how many understand what politics actually mean. If you just google it for a simple definition it says “ Politics is the way that people living in groups make decisions. Politics is about making agreements between people so that they can live together in groups such as tribes, cities, or countries”.

So that means somehow, somewhere we made a “Social contract”. And several world recognized philosophers had their say on it. For example:

What is the social contract by John Locke?

In simple terms, Locke’s social contract theory says:” government was created through the consent of the people to be ruled by the majority, “(unless they explicitly agree on some number greater than the…

--

--

Veronicadewilde

Financial Architect/ Tax Expert implementing financial freedom through education. I’m also the author of Papilio, a diary of Travels, Romance and Adventures.